Cosy Celtic Cushions with Bergere de France and Rowan

I have been in love with Celtic knitwear, designs and patterns ever since I spent 6 months in Waterford, Ireland in 1999-2000. During the week I went to an ordinary Irish school for girls – many thanks to my classmates for teaching me the lovely Irish accent! ūüėČ And on the week-ends we traveled with my family and visited all the many great castles Ireland has to offer – the ones that are still in my memory are the Kilkenny Castle and the Rock of Cashel. That was also the first time I saw an old Celtic¬†cross carved out of stone and richly decorated with traditional ornaments. That is why ¬†when a couple of years ago I learned¬†that Bergere de France (a popular French yarn brand) has devoted an entire¬†magazine to Irish patterns (Mag’tricot Irlandais), I could not resist. I became even more enthusiastic when I discovered that the magazine featured four gorgeous cushion designs, three of which I knitted for myself and two offered as Christmas presents.

For the red one (40×40 cm) I used Bergere de France yarn ALASKA (50% wool, 50% acrylic).

CelticCusions2

For the violet cushions (40×30 cm) I¬†took¬†the fabulous¬†ecological yarn Rowan Purelife Renew made of 93% recycled wool and 7% polyamide. This beautiful tweedy yarn is unfortunately discontinued and I was lucky¬†to still¬†find¬†it on eBay with a big discount.

CelticCusions3

CelticCushions4

I personally find these cushions excellent for those knitters who would love to learn how to knit more complex interlace patterns but still need some training with cables. With a chunky yarn the cushions knit very fast and add a lovely Irish touch to your home.

Leave a Reply

